Islamic Months Name in Order (English & Urdu)

In the rich tapestry of Islamic culture, the Islamic months hold a special place. Governed by the lunar calendar, each month is a unique journey marked by rituals, celebrations, and historical significance. Let’s delve into the beauty and diversity of Islamic months, understanding the perplexity and burstiness that make each one special.

The Lunar Calendar

The Islamic lunar calendar is not just a timekeeping system; it’s a reflection of the connection between the Islamic faith and the celestial bodies. The months follow the phases of the moon, creating a distinct rhythm that adds a layer of spiritual significance to each passing day.

Names of Islamic Months

The Islamic calendar comprises 12 months, each with its own name and purpose. Starting with Muharram, the sacred month, the calendar unfolds with a rich tapestry of history and tradition. Understanding the names of these months is key to comprehending the Islamic calendar’s importance.

Islamic Months Name in English (Wordwide)

3Rabi al-Awwal
4Rabi al-Thani
5Jumada al-Awwal
6Jumada al-Thani
11Dhu al-Qadah
12Dhu al-Hijjah

Islamic Months Name in English (Pakistan)

3Rabi ul Awwal
4Rabi us Sani
5Jumadi ul Awwal
6Jumadi us Sani
9Ramadan (Ramazan)

Islamic Months Name in Urdu

ربیع الاول3
ربیع الثانی4
جمادی الاول5
جمادی الثانی6

Muharram – The Sacred Month

Muharram, the first month of the Islamic calendar, holds a special place in the hearts of Muslims worldwide. It is a month of reflection, mourning, and observance, particularly on the 10th day, known as Ashura. Believers commemorate historical events and engage in acts of charity and self-reflection.

Rabi’ al-Awwal – The Month of the Prophet’s Birth

Following Muharram, Rabi’ al-Awwal brings joy and celebration. This is the month believed to mark the birth of Prophet Muhammad. Muslims around the world express their love for the Prophet through various festivities and events, underscoring the unity of the Islamic community.

Rajab, Sha’ban, and Ramadan

The months of Rajab, Sha’ban, and Ramadan form a trilogy of spiritual significance. Rajab and Sha’ban serve as a preparation for the holiest month, Ramadan. Ramadan, the month of fasting, is a time of self-discipline, increased devotion, and communal unity.

Shawwal, Dhu al-Qi’dah, and Dhu al-Hijjah

Completing the Islamic calendar, Shawwal, Dhu al-Qi’dah, and Dhu al-Hijjah bring a mix of joy, reflection, and pilgrimage. Eid al-Fitr, marking the end of Ramadan, occurs in Shawwal, while the Hajj pilgrimage takes place during Dhu al-Hijjah.

The Concept of a Lunar Calendar in Islam

The Islamic calendar’s lunar nature is deeply rooted in tradition. The choice of a lunar calendar has profound implications for Islamic rituals and festivals. Understanding this connection adds depth to the observance of religious events and fosters a sense of unity among Muslims.

Perplexity in Islamic Months

What makes Islamic months fascinating is their diversity and uniqueness. Each month carries its own set of traditions, rituals, and historical significance. The perplexity lies in the dynamic nature of these months, offering believers a chance to experience a broad spectrum of spiritual and cultural practices.


In conclusion, the Islamic months form a captivating journey through time, culture, and spirituality. The lunar calendar adds a unique rhythm, and each month’s perplexity and burstiness contribute to the richness of Islamic traditions. As we navigate through these months, we find a tapestry woven with threads of history, faith, and celebration.